Skip navigation

This is Grimsby.co.uk
Grimsby Telegraph
Thursday, February 12, 2009

 

 Lee Cowling, 11, Pat Yarborough Theatre Dance School 2009-2
A TALENTED dancer’s wish to train with world class professionals has come true. Eleven-year-old Lee Cowling, from Grimsby, has beaten off stiff competition from scores of dancers throughout the UK to gain admission to the highly prestigious Royal Ballet School (RBS), in London.

Lee wowed an admissions panel from RBS with his graceful pirouettes and plies, earning him an immediate full-time scholarship at the school.

Lee said he was ecstatic to discover he had been accepted. “I never thought I would achieve something as brilliant as this,” he said. “It really is a dream come true. I am very excited about going to London and I am looking forward to practising every day. But I am a bit nervous about moving away from home.”

Lee has high hopes and aspirations for the future.”My favourite ballet dancer is Carlos Acosta. I have watched his performances on my DVD lots of times – I would love to be as good as him one day. My ambition is to be the principle ballet dancer at the Royal Ballet.”

Mum Jackie was overwhelmed with pride at her son’s achievement. “Lee wanted to dance from a very early age,” she said. He was always nagging me to take him to dance classes. I was reluctant to let him go at first, because it was the only thing that his sister Abbie-Rae, who is Lee’s triplet, did independently from her two brothers.

“I am amazingly proud of Lee, as are his brother and sister. I will miss Lee incredibly much, but I want him to grab this opportunity with both hands and live his dream.”

Lee is also a talented musician – he plays piano, sings and takes part in theatre operatics.

Tracy Steel is Lee’s dance teacher at The Pat Yaborough Theatre Dance School, Scartho. “Lee only began dancing two years ago. His progress is absolutely amazing.

“Lee actually missed the audition day, but I managed to persuade the school to have a look at him as he has so much raw potential, with beautiful leg lines and feet.”

 

Lee Cowling, 11, Pat Yarborough Theatre Dance School  2009

 

Lee is the third pupil to be accepted to RBS from The Pat Yaborough Theatre Dance School. “I recently attended a teachers open day at RBS. One of the teachers came over to me and said ‘Grimsby is a funny little place, you have such a brilliant track record of dancers for one smallish town.

“Although we have always enabled any pupil with the required talent to achieve their goals, we know each child is equally important and can gain so much from the world of dance. We will miss Lee as part of the school, but we will have close links throughout his training.”

