Skip navigation

This Swedish documentary features a group of boys who attend a ballet school.  The boys demonstrate that their classical ballet training is also useful to them in other activities such as break dancing, skateboarding, snowboarding, rollerblading, music,  etc.  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
Here is a rough translation of  what the boys are saying: 
 
First Boy: My mother and I saw a program with boys who danced ballet.
I thought they were good. I want to start dancing and be just as good.
 
It is pretty tough: 1 1/2 hours four times a week.
 
I like to work on my balance and improve my flexibility and technique – better than everyone else at school. I almost have the best balance.
It is wonderful to be able to properly move my body and work other muscles. 
I would like to become a star, famous ballet dancer and earn lots of money. 
I do not care if my friends think I’m girly. Maybe I am, but I enjoy ballet and intend to continue. If boys are teased a lot and still continue to dance, I think it makes them stronger.

Second Boy:  Ballet began with boys, so why is it considered a female sports?

Third Boy: People have an ingrained image …

First Boy: Two girls called me “Ballet, Ballet, Ballet,” they chanted. Then I started to call myself “Ballet” and they left off – for it was no fun teasing me when I played along.

When we break dance we have the advantage of our classical training where we learn to follow the rhythm and pace of the piano. Sit-ups and push-ups also build the muscle and strength we need to break dance. Others think break dancing is hard, but I am going into the Opera Ballet so I  do not think it is so hard in comparison with classical ballet.

More videos

 

One Comment

    • martinemussies
    • Posted February 8, 2010 at 1:16 pm
    • Permalink

    That’s wonderful! I wish I was more like those boys… 🙂 great. Thanks for sharing! Best wishes from the Netherlands xMM


Comments are closed.

