Skip navigation

Surry Mirror
July 16, 2010

 

AN ASPIRING Billy Elliot has won a place at a prestigious dance academy. Charlie Taylor, who lives in Capel, won a place at the Royal Ballet School in London after wowing judges during an audition in June.

The eight-year-old’s achievement is even more remarkable considering he only started ballet lessons last September.

Proud mum Nicola Taylor, 33, said: “I’m so very proud of him because what he has achieved is outstanding and we didn’t expect it to happen so quickly. “It took me a week to stop crying every time I spoke about it. I couldn’t be any prouder, especially as it’s been such a short space of time since he started doing ballet.”

Charlie starts his fortnightly classes in the Junior Associates on Saturdays at the Royal Ballet School in September and the lessons will run until July. Charlie said the classes will focus on his posture, leg and arm positions.

Mrs Taylor, who also has daughter Chloe, 10, and three-year-old son Callum, added: “At the school, they take them back to the very basics. “They are almost stripped of what they have learnt. Fingers crossed at the end of the lessons he will be offered a scholarship.”

The Weald Primary School pupil has ballet lessons with Dougie Franklin at the Dance Shack in Leatherhead. Mr Franklin said: “I’m so pleased for him. From the first time I saw him dance I knew he was going to succeed. He’s got that drive and dedication and he just loves to dance. Charlie picks things up very quickly as well. He’s just like a sponge.”

And Charlie said: “My teacher was very proud of me and he kept crying every five minutes. I’m hoping to become the new Billy Elliot.”

Mrs Taylor said that she thinks Charlie gets his dancing ability from her. She said: “I danced when I was younger but I stopped when I left school because I hurt my back. I used to do ballet, tap and modern jazz among others. Charlie definitely didn’t get his skills from his dad – he has no co-ordination!”

To help his mum and dad, Matthew, 34, out with the £400 tuition fees for the top classes, Charlie is doing a sponsored 7.4 mile walk around Denbies on Sundaywith his family. Mrs Taylor said: “We’ve got £100 so far from friends and family.”

