Skip navigation

Nina Amir
mysoncandance.net
April 14, 2010

 
Editor’s note: Nina Amir is author of My Son Can Dance.

  
Not long ago, one of my readers made a comment. I realized right away, she knew what she was talking about, so I asked her if she felt qualified to write a guest blog post for My Son Can Dance. Turns out, she was more than qualified. Today, she sent me a great post about teaching boys how to take on the very male, very masculine, very virile roles they typically dance in classical ballets. I loved it! Who thinks about that when teaching boys to be male dancers–to think about the type of male characters they are dancing and to act them out through their dance? Dianne M. Buxton does.

Dianne writes about classical dance technique, injury prevention, nutrition, and the mind/body connection. She has taught at The National Ballet School of Canada, York University, Harvard University, and George Brown College. Through her work, she reminds dance students that as they struggle for excellence in technique, there is musicality, dramatic intuition and study, and that inexplicable connection to spirituality/magic that will lead them to the fulfillment of their potential.

Here’s what she wrote:

Studying Male Ballet Roles Helps Boys Become Better Ballet Dancers

 

__

