Skip navigation

by Susan Liu
The Mt. Druitt- St. Marys Standard
Photograph by David Marshall
January 27, 2011

 

HE’S Minchinbury’s own Billy Elliot.

At only 12, Cameron Holmes has a promising future ahead of him. The budding young dancer has starred in a major musical production and recently was selected from thousands to study at the Australian Ballet School in Melbourne.

The school is an academy for gifted students and is renowned for producing dancers who have gone on to dance with the Australian Ballet and the Sydney Dance Company.

“My mum put me in dancing since I was a baby,’’ Cameron said.“I’ve kept doing it because I like dancing, learning new styles and meeting friends. I like ballet and also Broadway jazz.’‘

Mum Donna, who runs Donna Jean’s Danceforce in Minchinbury, said she is proud of her son because the school is highly competitive.“He loves ballet because he likes a challenge. It can be quite athletic for boys,’’ she said.

Cameron was inspired to study ballet when he was picked to star in Billy Elliot the Musical.

He was only eight when he starred in the role of the young Billy Elliot.“He used to watch the older Billy Elliots dance every night backstage and by the end he knew the whole routine. I think that did make him more hungry to learn,’’ Mrs Holmes said.

Although Cameron has performed many times at his mum’s studio, dancing in front of thousands of people was a completely new experience.“It was a lot of fun. I met a lot of people and the older Billys inspired me to do ballet more often,’’ he said.“Sometimes I do get nervous, but I just go on and do my best.’‘

Cameron hopes to follow in the footsteps of his favourite dancer Joshua Consandine, who also studied at the Australian Ballet School and now dances for the Sydney Dance Company.

 

Copyright 2011 News Community Media

One Trackback/Pingback

  1. By On stage with Mary Poppins « Boys and Ballet on 10 Nov 2011 at 5:51 pm

    […] Related Articles: Minchinbury’s own Billy Elliot                           World at his feet   . […]

Comments are closed.

