Skip navigation

by Kat Adamski
North Shore Times
August 15, 2011

 

 

ALEXANDER Stuart was “dragged” to dancing classes with his big sister when he was three.

And even though she decided not to continue, his love of performing took over – and he leaves on Monday for the bright lights of the Big Apple.

Stuart, 18, has been accepted as a full-time trainee with the Joffrey School of Ballet in New York, and he has the ultimate goal of working with a world-renowned ballet company.

“I just want to dance,” he said. “It’s not genetic, my parents are terrible dancers, but I enjoy it for the pure love of movement and performance.”

In fact, he was so determined to dance that his mother moved with him to the north shore while his father and sister stayed in Tamworth.

Stuart was born in the country NSW town, and he took a small break from dancing when he was in primary school due to peer pressure.

“I decided I wanted to be a scientist when I was eight,” he said. But his teachers persuaded him to enter in all of the dance festivals – and by this time he was learning jazz and tap, as well as taking oboe and piano classes.

He came to Sydney to take part in the Schools Spectacular in year 4 and decided he wanted to apply for the Newtown High School of Performing Arts. After his teacher advised he wouldn’t get in without ballet, he immediately started taking lessons.

He auditioned, and was accepted, to start year 11 at the performing arts high school in 2008, so his mother Leanne set up house in Pymble so her son could pursue his dreams. “I finished one year and then I decided to pursue ballet full time,” Stuart said.

He joined the Alegria Dance Studios, run by Hilary Kaplan and Archibald McKenzie, who have a wonderful reputation for teaching boys, and three months ago sent out his audition tapes across Europe and the US. He was accepted at the Joffrey School, and will live in an apartment complex in vibrant Greenwich Village with other students for his two-year program.

“My parents are a bit sad that I’m leaving, but they’re really proud and supportive,” he said.

“I don’t actually look up to anybody else, I want to follow my own path. This is what I want, so I’m willing to do anything.”

 

 

© 2011 News Community Media

 

