Skip navigation

A Dad in New York speaks out:

This post is a tribute to my son Alex, who for the last three years has been taking ballet lessons at the Ithaca Ballet.  This weekend he’s part of their Cinderella performance. I’ve been observing from the sideline and as an audience member and can honestly say he’s matured because of this experience. It’s not completely attributable to ballet but I know it has played a large part.

As a guy it’s easy to fall into the trap of thinking my son should focus on sports and other boyish things. You hear about the taunts and criticisms that ballet will somehow soften him or negatively affect his manhood. You question your own manhood sitting watching the rehearsals and your son in tights, but I’m here to tell you that is all bogus

Read the full post: http://dadscancooktoo.com/2011/10/14/real-boys-take-ballet

One Comment

  1. Thanks for the repost! Glad you enjoyed it.


Comments are closed.

