Skip navigation

Ajax & Pickering News Advertiser
December 22, 2011

An Ajax boy is dancing in a holiday classic in Toronto. Joshua St. John, 12, is performing in The Nutcracker, running at the Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts until Jan. 3.

He plays the roles of a chef and a guard in Act 2 and has a bigger role as a boy in the family scene of Act 1.

A dedicated dancer and performer, Joshua hopes to attend Canada’s National Ballet School in the near future and attended its summer school. But he’s glad he waited a year.

“This is a dream come true,” he says. “I was going to attend NBS this year but I decided to work on my other genres for another year as I enjoy performing them as well. Normally these roles in The Nutcracker are performed by full-time students at NBS, so when (the National Ballet of Canada) asked me to perform in The Nutcracker I was surprised but extremely happy and grateful.”

A performer since age nine who attends Kim Thomas Dance Project in Whitby, Joshua performs in many genres, including ballet, jazz, tap, hip hop, lyrical/contemporary and musical theatre. He credits KTDP and Jacqueline’s School of Dance in Pickering, where he started his training, as studios that have helped him grow into a more seasoned performer.

Among his thank-yous are to sister Ashley. “I tried hockey and lacrosse and although I was a big fan of both sports I really enjoyed performing,” Joshua says. “My sister Ashley performs and teaches so I want to follow in her footsteps.”

Joshua’s performances include Dec. 22 at 7 p.m., Dec. 27 at 1 p.m., Dec. 29 at 5:30 p.m and Jan. 3 at 1 p.m. The Four Seasons Centre is at 145 Queen St. W., on the southeast corner of Queen Street and University Avenue.

For Nutcracker tickets, call 1-866-345 9595 or visit www.national.ballet.ca.

© Copyright Metroland 2011

