Skip navigation

The Blackpool Gazette
January 20, 2012

A BLACKPOOL schoolboy is all in a flutter after gaining a place in the English National Youth Ballet production of Swan Lake. Zac Crowe, 10, a pupil at Anchorsholme Primary, realised his talent after taking part in a dance partnership scheme between his school and the Royal Ballet School.

Despite having no dance experience he was then invited to join a three-year funded programme, backed by the famous academy, held at Bispham High School. Now the talented youngster is a Royal Ballet School junior associate – a feeder programme for students into the school – and will also attend its White Lodge International Summer programme this summer.

Zac’s mum, Rebekah, 28, said: “He has always liked music and did a bit of break dancing but he has never shown a real interest. “I’ve been quite surprised at how well he is doing, when he was asked to audition for the junior associates in Manchester, he had to compete against 1,000 children from the North of England.

“Considering he is now training with children who have danced since the age of two I think he has done really well, his teachers say they can’t tell he is a beginner.

He has grown up so much in the last year, when he goes to White Lodge – home of the Royal Ballet’s Lower School – he will board on his own for a week. That will be horrible for me but such a good opportunity for him, he is meeting so many different people and the male dancers tell him they have to be stronger than rugby players.”

Zac, who recently moved to Wharles near Kirkham, will perform in his first production Swan Lake, which will go on tour in Newcastle this April. He said: “I will be very nervous, it is the first time I’ve performed on stage but I’m really excited as well. I don’t know what part I have yet, we haven’t had all the details but I am sure it will be fun, I am proud as it was my first ever audition for a production.

“I love going to Manchester every week, there are about 16 pupils in my class, I have met some really nice people and some are very posh.

“When I go down to London I may have to get ‘posher’, we will get to see the West End shows and meet the dancers.”

© 2012 Johnston Publishing Ltd.

