Skip navigation

By Owen Bennett
The Hertfordshire Mercury
November 25, 2012

Spencer Vale, 9, successfully auditioned for a place in the London Children’s Ballet production of The Secret Garden 2012[Hertfordshire, UK] – A Young ballet dancer has won a role in a show in London’s West End. Spencer Vale, 9, from Wheatcroft, Cheshunt, successfully auditioned for a place in the London Children’s Ballet production of The Secret Garden.

The Flampstead End Primary School pupil fought off competition from more than 600 children, including students from the Royal Ballet School, to be one of 55 selected dancers.

Spencer had to attend two auditions in London, and found out he had made the final cut last week. He said: “I was a bit shocked, but now I’m quite excited.

“I was nervous for the first audition but for the second one I felt a bit more calm as I knew the people.

“I’ve been dancing since I was three, and I like it because it’s just jumping about.”

Spencer became interested in ballet after his sister, Lucy, now 15, started taking lessons. He attends Step2Step Dance Academy in Fairways, Cheshunt and his mother Kate, 39, was equally as shocked when he got through to final cast.

She said: “He was so up against it. We just thought we would take him for the experience and so he would get a bit more confident. I didn’t think he would get through as we don’t get to see him dance.

“He’s not really one to come home from his lessons and say ‘Oh I did this today’.”

Spencer will find out his role in the show in December when he heads down for the casting call and wardrobe fitting.

His father, Dean, 40, is looking forward to see his son take part in the show in Sadler’s Wells’ Peacock Theatre in April next year. He said: “I don’t know anything about ballet but his dance teacher will come out and say he’s blown them away in his lessons.”

 

© 2012 Herts and Essex Newspapers Ltd.

