Skip navigation

By Emma Davies
The Sentinel
August 31,2013

Jed Dyer,12,will perform with the National Youth Ballet ( photo by Malcolm Hart) 2013[Staffordshire, England] – A 12-year-old ballet star beat hundreds of youngsters to perform at a top London theatre. Jed Dyer, who attends Chesterton Community Sports College in Newcastle, will join a team of dancers at the Bloomsbury Theatre in Camden tonight.

The talented performer, who started dancing at the age of two at The Marilyn Jones Dance Centre in Newcastle, was persuaded to audition for a place at the National Youth Ballet of Great Britain event earlier this year by Marilyn.

Proud mum Sarah Dyer, aged 33, of Barbridge Road, Chesterton, said: “He has always been really good at dancing and he loves the attention. When he got the letter saying that he had got a place, he was so excited.”

Jed travelled to Tring in Hertfordshire to take part in a 10 day summer school, where the dancers rehearsed a performance for three shows last week at the Yvonne Arnaud Theatre in Guildford, and the one-off show tonight in London.

Sarah said: “The performance was really good. It’s a really professional show. I am so proud of him. He always surprises me on stage, especially when you watch him with other people who attend vocational schools, whereas he does it as a hobby.”

Jed started doing ballet, tap and disco with his sister, Molly, now aged 16, who is a student teacher at the centre. He said: “It was an incredible experience, although I didn’t think it would be as hard and intense as it was. At first we had to stay in a little house and I didn’t know anyone, so it was quite nerve wracking.

“I have never been away from home that long and I missed my mum.”

Jed now has a money box so he can save towards his next dancing adventure.

He added: “I am looking forward to tonight, I am so excited, especially because I have been told it is fully booked.

“Since I was little I have always wanted a career in dancing and after this experience I am determined to do it professionally when I grow up.”

Marilyn Jones, who has been running the dance centre for over 30 years, said: “I told Jed to audition because he is a very talented lad who I know will go far in the dance world. He is very dedicated, especially for a boy of his age.”

The 59-year-old, whose two sons dance professionally, added: “I have a lot of experience and I can see in Jed that if that’s what he wants, then he will be very successful.”

Copyright © 2013 Local World

