Skip navigation

CBC News
August 28, 2013

Finn Hepting, 11 will attend National Ballet School 2013[Saskatchewan, Canada] – A Regina youth, Finn Hepting, has been accepted into the National Ballet School in Toronto where he will begin classes next week. Hepting, who is 10 (but turns 11 on Saturday), was accepted into the prestigious program following a rigorous audition process during a summer camp.

“I’ve been dancing since I was three,” Hepting told CBC Radio’s Afternoon Edition host Craig Lederhouse Wednesday. “I liked it, lots.”

About two years ago, Hepting said, he decided to get even more involved in dance.”I started taking more classes,” he said and enjoyed learning more moves. “You get to do these awesome jumps.”

Hepting spent almost a month at National Ballet School, for the summer camp and audition. He said he was almost overwhelmed by the place.”Once I first walked in, I’m like ‘Whoa. This place is cool’,” he said.

Hepting said his friends are excited for him.”Some of my friends at dance don’t want me to leave, but they do,” he said. “Some of my other friends are super happy and stuff.”

He said his daily routine, for school, will start at 8:30 a.m. and end at 5 p.m. with a combination of dancing and school work. He said the early morning dance regime will be a new experience, admitting he is not much of a morning person.

© Copyright 2013 CBC

