Skip navigation

By Chris Owen
The Queenland Times
February 9, 2014

Rudy Hawkes, an Australian Ballet principal dancer, will star in Channel Ten’s six-part documentary series Once Upon a Dream 2012Growing up as the only boy in a ballet class full of girls, you may think Rudy Hawkes was a common target of name-calling among his male peers at school. But the former Ipswich dancer said it was actually the ongoing support from his friends which encouraged him to pursue a successful career in ballet.

After 22 years of training, the 29-year-old is now a principal dancer for The Australian Ballet, working with some of the best choreographers in the world. “To get to where I am today has been very challenging and demanded a lot of hard work,” Mr Hawkes said. But I consider myself as one of the luckiest people in the world – I’m getting paid to do something I love. Whenever things get tough, I just remind myself of that.”

Mr Hawkes began his journey in ballet when he was seven years old…

Read the entire interview: http://www.qt.com.au/news/dancer-leaps-into-lead-role/2163604/

© 2014 The Queensland Times Pty Limited .

Related Articles:

Story of Queensland’s own Billy Elliot

From football to ballet

