Skip navigation

Faarkhir Bestman, 10, in class at the School of the Performing Arts (photo by Tracey Adams) 2014

By Warren Fortune
The Independent Online
March 13, 2014

[Cape Town, South Africa] – He has been labelled the Billy Elliot of the Cape Flats, a 10-year-old from Hanover Park who has a passion for ballet that transcends his sometimes shy exterior. Faarkhir Bestman is the only boy in his ballet and modern dance classes at the Eoan Group School of the Performing Arts at the Joseph Stone Auditorium in Athlone. He did not start at the age of five, like some of the girls in his classes, but his commitment and drive saw him finish top of his class in his first year last year.

“I have always dreamt of becoming a dancer,” Faarkhir said when we met him at his school. “I get excited when I dance, especially doing the jetés and jumps in ballet.”

Faarkhir is in Grade 3 in ballet.

He was inspired by the dancing in the Step-Up movies he saw on television and performed for his family at home. He performed especially for his younger sister, Akeeda, 6, who is paralysed. “I like dancing for my younger sister because she laughs and smiles when I do. It makes her happy. I want to make this my career one day so I can look after my sister.”

Read more about Faarkhir: http://www.iol.co.za/news/south-africa/western-cape/meet-hanover-park-s-billy-elliot-1.1660898

© Copyright 2014 Independent Online

