Skip navigation

By Alexander Robertson
Dorking and Leatherhead Advertiser
April 16, 2014

Charlie Taylor, 12, hopes to make a career as a dancer (Moorhouse Photo Studios) 2014[Surrey, England] – Aspiring young ballet dancer Charlie Taylor has never had a problem wowing tutors, judges and audiences when it comes to doing what he loves. But now the 12-year-old from Capel believes he can finally win over his toughest critics in the playground after being accepted onto the cast of a new show at the world famous Sadler’s Wells theatre in London.

The youngster, an associate at the Royal Ballet School for four years, has been selected from hundreds to perform in the new production of Nanny McPhee as part of the London Children’s Ballet.

Charlie told the Advertiser: “I was at one of my Saturday Royal Ballet classes and this chap came in and was watching us. At the end he said he would fast-track me to the final auditions of this new ballet. I went along and obviously did quite well because they wanted me in the show and it has gone on from there really. It has been so exciting and I am really looking forward to it.”

Charlie’s talent has seen him perform at the Royal Opera House several times, but things could have been very different if he had listened to a handful of his peers. “I love ballet dancing,” he said. “It makes me feel free and I just forget everything else when I’m on stage. Most of my friends think it’s cool that I am dancing on the big stage but there have been some who have not been very supportive. I used to get upset about it but now I don’t let it worry me. It doesn’t matter what they say to me – I just say OK and walk off because I know that I’m doing what I love.”

He added: “Ballet is something that really comes from my heart. It is really tiring but it is so worth it.”

Charlie will be one of dozens of young dancers aged from nine to 16 to perform in the new production of Emma Thompson’s story of an eccentric nanny with magical powers.

Charlie’s mum Nicki said her son had had to learn to cope with negative reactions, having been targeted by bullies when he first started dancing. “At one point during his first year we were worried that some mindless bullying was going to ruin Charlie’s love of dancing,” she said. “It was nothing too serious but he was being called names and made fun of simply because he was more interested in it than football or cricket. Children can be very influenced at that age and if Charlie had taken what they said to heart then it could have meant a waste of his talent. But Charlie is stronger than that.”

Copyright © 2014 Local World

Read another story about Charlie: Young boy dances into ballet school

