Skip navigation

kirsteninspired

20140423-111045.jpg
My son inspires me. Ever since he was two years old he has danced. He started ballet lessons when he was four (at his request!) and the smile never left his face during the whole 30 minutes. Even now it rarely does. Why does this inspire me? I am not a dancer and no-one in my family is either. This is a passion that he was born with and chose to follow in spite of the odds. It’s hard to be a boy that does ballet. I am not sure what it may be like in other countries, but in South Africa, boys don’t do ballet. Actually, they don’t really dance much at all. Boys here play rugby, soccer and cricket. There have been a few times when he has sobbed with the difficulty of being different but he has never wavered from his desire to dance.
He is now…

View original post 53 more words

One Comment

    • Jamie
    • Posted May 1, 2014 at 12:42 am
    • Permalink

    This kid is soooooo cool and I wish more kids are as brave as him. Id be sad too if I was the only boy in dance class but theres 3 others with me in mine. I hope the boy in the story gets more friends at dance and at school. Im very tired of old-fationed kids who think boys shouldn’t dance. Kids that say that are dinosaurs!


Comments are closed.

