Skip navigation

Ballet dancers Hugh O'Sullivan (left) and Lewis Heath (Paul Jacobs)

 

The News
April 20, 2015

 

[Portsmouth, England] – A talented trio are to perform in a production of Snow White in the West End this month [April].

Hugh O’Sullivan, Lewis Heath and Tilly-May Padley are currently rehearsing as a part of the London Children’s Ballet group. The cast of Snow White aged 9-16, represents 56 of the best ballet talent from across the UK who will perform at Sadler’s Wells Peacock Theatre, London.

Lewis who trains at the Southsea School of Dance has been cast in three roles including a kings huntsman.

14-year-old Lewis from Hilsea said: ‘It is my first time doing anything like this so I am over the moon that I got in. I am a little bit nervous as all of the nights are sold out but it will be breath taking to do.’

Lewis suffers from Tourette’s syndrome and uses ballet to battle his tics. He said: ‘I find it quite hard to cope but when I start dancing something strange happens and it helps me manage my tics really well.’

Dancing alongside him will be another Southsea pupil, Hugh O’Sullivan from Old Portsmouth. The 12-year-old performed in last year’s production of Nanny McPhee but it wasn’t easy for him to be cast in Snow White.

Hugh will be playing the part of a king’s huntsmen and a dancing party entertainer. He said: ‘I decided to audition again as it was really, really fun last year. I was quite nervous when I auditioned before but as I know what I’m doing a bit more I think I will be fine.’

Playing Happy the dwarf is the production is Tilly-May Padley from Drayton. The 11-year-old recently performed at The Kings Theatre’s staging of Sleeping Beauty. According to directors she was the ideal choice to play Happy since her first audition.

Zoe Vickerman said: ‘She is incredible and has been since her first audition. ‘She is so smiley that we knew she would be perfect for this part.’

To get their roles the trio had to compete against 600 young hopefuls all wanting their moment in the limelight.

 

© 2015 Johnston Publishing Ltd.

 

