Skip navigation

By Georgia Osland
Lakes Mail
January 14, 2016

 

Benjamin Anderson, 13, is ready to make his mark on the Australian ballet scene (Darren Pateman) 2016[Arcadia Vale, New South Wales, Australia] – Arcadia Vale ballet dancer Benjamin Anderson is about to take the leap. The 13-year-old former Newcastle Ballet Theatre student will this weekend move into the Australian Ballet School’s brand new, state-of-the-art student residence in Melbourne.

There he will study dance full-time for five years and attend the Victorian College of the Arts Secondary School.

The world-renowned Australian Ballet School’s eight-level program aims to produce graduates of the highest calibre, many of whom go on to dance with the top professional companies in Australia and around the world.

Benjamin was one of only four boys in the country – and the only one in the state – to gain acceptance into the ballet school’s entry-level program late last year. He was chosen based on his performance at national auditions, where he caught selectors’ eyes.

The former Hunter School of the Performing Arts student said when his mum, Karen told him the news he could hardly believe it. “I remember it clearly,” he said. “I was actually at school when mum rang me and told me I’d been accepted. I felt like crying I was so happy.”

Benjamin has been dancing since he was seven but has only three years’ technical training. Naturally, he is excited to start his professional ballet career so early in the peace.

After he finishes the program, he may be asked to join the prestigious Australian Ballet Company.

It is Benjamin’s dream to star in productions such as Sleeping Beauty and Swan Lake. But wherever he ends up, he is excited for what lies ahead.

“There are a lot of opportunities,” he said. “The company can accept you into the program or you can get overseas scholarships. Anything can happen.”

And on moving away from his family, Benjamin said it would be tough but he knew he would pull through. “I think I’ll definitely miss home – my mum, my dad and my brother – but I’ll be fine.

“It’ll definitely be worth it to follow my passion.”

 

Copyright © 2016. Fairfax Media

 

 

Leave a Reply

