Skip navigation

By CHRIS HILL
27 June 2008

Tyler Carey, 9yrs

Inspired by one of his favourite films, Tyler Carey, nine, from West Winch, near King’s Lynn, has fought off thousands of other young audition hopefuls to become a Junior Associate of the prestigious Royal Ballet School.

 

Only a year ago, Tyler Carey was captivated by the ballet dancers of stage and screen and dreamed of emulating their grace and passion on the West End. So, just like the working class hero Billy Elliot in one of his favourite films, he enrolled to become the only boy in his local dance class.

Twelve months later, the gifted nine-year-old is celebrating winning a place at the prestigious national dance school where ballet legends like Dame Margot Fonteyn have honed their art.

Tyler, from West Winch, near King’s Lynn, has fought off thousands of other young audition hopefuls to become a Junior Associate of the Royal Ballet School.

From September he will attend a fortnightly lesson at Covent Garden in London along with his regular classes at Watlington School of Dancing.

He hopes it will be the first step towards his ambition of dancing in Swan Lake – and proof that ballet dancing is not just for the girls.

“Every time I saw a show I used to ask if I could be in it,” he said. “I started a year ago and some people teased me. My Mum said when I’m on the stage I would show them – and I think I have.

“Some people think it is a bit sissy but I say that you need lots of energy to lift girls up.”

In his first year, Tyler passed seven exams in ballet, tap and modern dancing while appearing in the King’s Lynn Players’ productions of the Jungle Book and Aladdin.

After his May audition in Birmingham, Tyler was not certain of his success but had support from his twin brother Finn – despite his lack of interest in dancing.

“When I got the letter my brother said he’d bet me £100 that I would get in,” said Tyler. “When I found out I got in I did cry for a little while. I am proud of myself and grateful for the opportunity.”

Dance instructor Penny Cooke said Tyler was her first student in 30 years who was good enough for the Royal Ballet School. “He is just a normal lad but very focused about his dancing with a very mature approach,” she said. “His physique is right, he has good elevation, strong legs and great footwork.

“It makes me cross that dancing is not seen as masculine in this country – it wouldn’t happen in Cuba.Tyler Carey with twin brother

“He scraps around and fights with his brother and it is this macho element which will make him a great dancer. It is a very strong and self-disciplined thing to do and I think more boys should be encouraged to take it up.”

Tyler’s mother Tracey, 43, said her son’s nimble skills were not a family trait. “It is quite amazing,” she said. “I can’t dance very well and my husband Darren is like Metal Mickey – it was just something Tyler wanted to do.

“Sometimes he will hold his hands in a certain way and it’s not something that Penny has taught him yet. He has been given a gift.

“There were only a handful picked from all over the country, and we never expected in a million years he would be one of them. Just waiting for the letter was agony for him. He was just shaking.”

The Royal Ballet School sets training standards for the world’s top dance companies, and encourages its Junior Associates to audition for the lower school at age 11.

Copyright © 2008 Archant Regional.

 

One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] article: Ballet dream comes true for Norfolk’s Billy Elliott « […]

Comments are closed.